A new year and some thoughts.

It’s been a while since I was here, though quite surprised at how long ago! I was still on maternity leave for one!

My son was 2 in October and has kept me very busy this holiday, with what we think was the Flu. Delightful and no rest for mummy!

My other son is 9.5 and has been a superstar helping me when asked (sometimes even doing it first time, others requiring 10 times!) He’s a Cub Scout and loving it, wont be long before he is a Scout! Thanks to his Akela and to anyone who reads this who volunteers with Scouting/Guiding. You do amazing things for so many young people! I helped out recently to help deliver content for their disability awareness badge. Would be remiss of me not to offer to help there! The kids were great and I think the other volunteers learned something too!

I managed another full year of my photo a day project! I just adore looking back over a year/a few years/a decade and seeing how life has changed.

I’m still singing with BackBeat a cappella, or BBAC for short. This year we made it to the convention stage and did ourselves proud. Hopefully we’ll make it back again there in May to go for it again. I’m also now singing in a Barbershop Quartet, called QuarterBeat. We initially set up to help chorus learn new songs, but actually found out that we sound pretty good together and we enjoy each others’ company. For one reason and another last year was pretty tough going for some, so 2020 is the year of QuarterBeat I hope! Looking forward to getting our first proper coaching session in this year too. Exciting.

My wonderful husband Joe is still keeping fit with his running and occasional games of football. He regularly runs 10k! I am in awe of anyone who can do that. Sadly my body said years ago that running is not for me. We celebrated 13 years married and 17 years together this year! Not bad going!

So that’s personal stuff, but what about professional?

I’m still in the same school. I’m now a long standing member of staff, having started my 15th year there this September! Since I returned from maternity leave I’ve been set new challenges, moved away from my real love of the more complex children and given a class leaning more towards MLD! To say it was a shock to the system would be no lie. In fact I’ll be honest and say that I wrote my letter of resignation at one point! However, I’ve stuck it out and showed that I can put my mind to anything if I have to. I have 8 of the same 12 again this year! I wont lie and say I still miss PMLD massively and I hope to return there very soon, but I’m keeping going. I’m a professional and will always do my best for the children in my care.

My other new challenge since mat leave, is that I am currently part time. I work Monday to Wednesday and have a lovely job share who does Thursday and Friday. We never see each other but we talk a lot! She was on mat leave for most of last year, so it’s good to have her back this time! I think that some people think that part time is easy. It’s not. It’s really not. Learning to share your class with someone is tough. It feels a bit like you’ve been off sick every week! Learning to fit everything I need to in to my work days is tough! I still believe it was the right decision for me and my family though. It has also meant that that big change in class was easier on me!

I think it’s actually, shock horror, made me a better teacher. I feel I now give in 3 days what I used to give in 5. I have more energy and enthusiasm, knowing I’ve only 1/2/3 days to go! We should be embracing part time in schools, not scowling at thinking folks are slacking off! My 2 days at home during the week are full on, believe me! We need to see more leaders being part time. Why should that stop at a certain level of hierarchy? Surely 2 heads looking at the same role from their unique stand point are better than 1?! There are loads of reasons why part time should and can work for those who want or need it within teaching and leadership in schools. We need to embrace it.

I for one am looking for a new challenge, a new school where I can use my knowledge and expertise to make a difference (especially if it involves PMLD/Children with complex needs. Even better if it was part time too!

So yeah, a quick sum up and a few thoughts! All comments welcome!

#parttime #teaching #SEND

Published by Nichola

Teacher of children with severe or profound learning difficulties. Mum to B and S. Wife to one. Lover of performing (dancing and barbershop singing)

Leave a comment